CaskGrail

Filed by Thornton Distilling Company

Thornton Distilling, Four Malt Midwestern Single Malt Whisky

Thornton, IllinoisFiled 19 Dec 2024

Rate this filing

Class, as printed
MIDWESTERN SINGLE MALT WHISKY
Finish, as printed
1ST FILL BOURBON CASK
Mash bill, as printed
BREWERS PALE MALT, MUNICH, BRITISH BROWN MALT & BELGIAN STYLE SPECIAL DARK MALT
Bottle
750 ml

Read from the front label by the extractor; each fact is the label's own statement.

Sourcing

Distilled at
Not named — the label says only "distilled in Illinois"
Bottled by
Mashed, Fermented, Distilled, Matured & Bottled By Thornton Distilling CO., Thornton, Illinois
Distilled in
Illinois

Each line is the label's own statement with its role words removed. Applicant and bottler are not the same thing as distiller.

No distiller name is inferred from a state. When the label names only a state, the ledger says so.

Find this bottle

Neither the house nor the brand prints a bottle finder on its site. What follows are searches, not sightings.

Retailer searches
Instacart · Total Wine — a search for “Thornton Distilling, Four Malt Midwestern Single Malt Whisky” that you run; each answers from stock at the grocery and liquor chains it delivers for, by your address, and its own stores' stock. No affiliate links, no prices here.

More Thornton Distilling

Other labels filed under the same brand name: batches, single barrels, picks and re-issues, newest first.

Shared wood

Other brands whose labels name the same finish cask, most in common first, then nearest proof.

Also filed by Thornton Distilling Company

Distiller
01 OctThornton DistillingAmerican single maltNot stated120Not statedOwn still
28 SepThornton DistillingAmerican single maltNot stated120ILNot named
18 SepThornton DistillingAmerican single maltNot stated120*ILOwn still
16 SepThornton DistillingAmerican single maltNot stated120*ILNot named
14 AugThornton DistillingAmerican single maltNot stated120*ILNamed
14 AugThornton DistillingAmerican single maltNot stated120*ILOwn still
25 JunDead DropStraight bourbonNot stated94INNot named
21 MayDead Drop, MonofloralWhiskey specialtyNot stated100Not statedBottler only
01 OctThornton DistillingAmerican single malt, 120 proof
Distilled in
Not stated
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
Thornton Distilling Company
28 SepThornton DistillingAmerican single malt, 120 proof
Distilled in
IL
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Thornton Distilling Company
18 SepThornton DistillingAmerican single malt, 120* proof
Distilled in
IL
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
Thornton Distilling Company
16 SepThornton DistillingAmerican single malt, 120* proof
Distilled in
IL
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Thornton Distilling Company
14 AugThornton DistillingAmerican single malt, 120* proof
Distilled in
IL
Distiller
Named
Filed by
Thornton Distilling Company
14 AugThornton DistillingAmerican single malt, 120* proof
Distilled in
IL
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
Thornton Distilling Company
25 JunDead DropStraight bourbon, 94 proof
Distilled in
IN
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Thornton Distilling Company
21 MayDead Drop, MonofloralWhiskey specialty, 100 proof
Distilled in
Not stated
Distiller
Bottler only
Filed by
Thornton Distilling Company

* Proof derived from the printed ABV (ABV × 2); the label prints no proof.

More from the week of 16–22 December 2024

Distiller
22 DecPomilio's RestaurantStraight bourbonNot stated90KYNot named
20 DecRedwood Empire, Van DuzenStraight ryeNot readNot readNot readNot read
20 DecBarrell WhiskeyWhiskey17 y141.44INNot named
20 DecPhil's ShadowRyeNot readNot readNot readNot read
20 DecChristian County Mac Military Affairs CommitteeStraight bourbon2 y100KYNot named
20 DecRoad AmericaRyeNot stated100Not statedBottler only
22 DecPomilio's RestaurantStraight bourbon, 90 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Beckman Brothers Distillery
20 DecRedwood Empire, Van DuzenStraight rye
Distilled in
Not read
Distiller
Not read
Filed by
Corning & Company
20 DecBarrell WhiskeyWhiskey, 17 y, 141.44 proof
Distilled in
IN
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Barrell Craft Spirits
20 DecPhil's ShadowRye
Distilled in
Not read
Distiller
Not read
Filed by
Wigle Whiskey
20 DecChristian County Mac Military Affairs CommitteeStraight bourbon, 2 y, 100 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Casey Jones Distillery
20 DecRoad AmericaRye, 100 proof
Distilled in
Not stated
Distiller
Bottler only
Filed by
Plank Road Distillery

The whole week's ledger

Where this comes from
Label approved
19 Dec 2024
Submitted
11 Dec 2024 (approved 8 days later)
Name on the approval
Thornton Distilling Company
Address on the approval
Thornton, IL
Permits on the approval
DSP-IL-15032
Class on the approval
140, Whiskey
How it was read
By CaskGrail's reader, from the label images; each fact is the label's own statement
Source
US TTB label approval (COLA), not a shelf listing or a release announcement

A label approval is permission to bottle. It isn't an announcement or a release date. The name on the approval is whoever applied for it, which is not always who distilled the whiskey. How CaskGrail reads labels

The Rickhouse Report

Every Monday: the week's new American whiskey labels, with what each label says about who distilled it.

One email a week, unsubscribe in one click. Your address goes nowhere else. Know the password? It's Monday.

The distillery this label was approved to

Thornton Distilling Company

Follow Thornton Distilling Company. Their new labels show up on your home page, newest first. No account needed; sign in to keep your follows on every device.

The only email CaskGrail sends today is The Rickhouse Report: every new American whiskey label of the week, each Monday, which you can get without an account at the foot of this page.

Get The Rickhouse Report