Filed by World Whiskey Society
The First Pope
Pendergrass, GeorgiaFiled 04 Sep 2025
- 145.1 proof · 72.55% ABV
- 11 years
- Straight bourbon
- Single barrel
- 80% corn · 10% rye · 5% wheat · 5% malted barley
- Distilled in Georgia
Wood & finish
- Class, as printed
- Straight Bourbon Whiskey
- Mash bill, as printed
- 80% C|10% R 5% W|5% MB
- Bottle
- 750 ml
- Selected by
- Liquid Ministry & Friends
Read from the front and back labels by the extractor; each fact is the label's own statement.
Sourcing
- Distilled at
- Not named — the label says only "distilled in Georgia"
- Bottled by
- BOTTLED BY: Public Barrel Pendergrass GA
- Distilled in
- Georgia
Each line is the label's own statement with its role words removed. Applicant and bottler are not the same thing as distiller.
No distiller name is inferred from a state. When the label names only a state, the ledger says so.
Find this bottle
Neither the house nor the brand prints a bottle finder on its site. What follows are searches, not sightings.
- Retailer searches
- Instacart · Total Wine — a search for “The First Pope” that you run; each answers from stock at the grocery and liquor chains it delivers for, by your address, and its own stores' stock. No affiliate links, no prices here.
Also filed by World Whiskey Society
| Distiller | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() | 13 Oct | Barbarian | Bourbon | 10 y | 128.4 | DC | Not named |
![]() | 09 Sep | Doc Holliday | Bourbon, bottled in bond | Not stated | Not stated | DC | Not named |
![]() | 21 Aug | Doc Holliday, Chocolate | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 70* | Not stated | Bottler only |
![]() | 21 Aug | Doc Holliday, Maple Peacan | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 70* | Not stated | Bottler only |
![]() | 14 Aug | Archives of American History | Straight bourbon | 6 y | 96 | DC | Not named |
![]() | 12 Aug | Doc Holliday, Brown Sugar Banana Flavored Whiskey | Flavored whiskey | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Bottler only |
![]() | 11 Aug | Doc Holliday, Maple Peach Flavored Whiskey | Flavored whiskey | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Bottler only |
![]() | 11 Aug | Doc Holliday, Spicy Pineapple Flavored Whiskey | Flavored whiskey | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Bottler only |
13 OctBarbarianBourbon, 10 y, 128.4 proof
- Distilled in
- DC
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- World Whiskey Society
09 SepDoc HollidayBourbon, bottled in bond
- Distilled in
- DC
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- World Whiskey Society
21 AugDoc Holliday, ChocolateWhiskey specialty, 70* proof
- Distilled in
- Not stated
- Distiller
- Bottler only
- Filed by
- World Whiskey Society
21 AugDoc Holliday, Maple PeacanWhiskey specialty, 70* proof
- Distilled in
- Not stated
- Distiller
- Bottler only
- Filed by
- World Whiskey Society
14 AugArchives of American HistoryStraight bourbon, 6 y, 96 proof
- Distilled in
- DC
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- World Whiskey Society
12 AugDoc Holliday, Brown Sugar Banana Flavored WhiskeyFlavored whiskey
- Distilled in
- Not stated
- Distiller
- Bottler only
- Filed by
- World Whiskey Society
11 AugDoc Holliday, Maple Peach Flavored WhiskeyFlavored whiskey
- Distilled in
- Not stated
- Distiller
- Bottler only
- Filed by
- World Whiskey Society
11 AugDoc Holliday, Spicy Pineapple Flavored WhiskeyFlavored whiskey
- Distilled in
- Not stated
- Distiller
- Bottler only
- Filed by
- World Whiskey Society
* Proof derived from the printed ABV (ABV × 2); the label prints no proof.
More from the week of 1–7 September 2025
| Distiller | Status | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() | 05 Sep | Dierbergs | Blended whiskey | Not stated | 80 | Not stated | Bottler only | Filed |
![]() | 05 Sep | Dierbergs | Straight bourbon | Not stated | 80 | KY | Not named | Filed |
![]() | 05 Sep | Bull Run Distilling Co, The Unipiper | Whiskey | 16 y | 96.44 | Not stated | Bottler only | Expired |
![]() | 05 Sep | Castle & Key, Wheated Cask Strength | Straight bourbon | 7 y | 105.8 | KY | Own still | Filed |
![]() | 05 Sep | J. Mattingly 1845, Martinez Martinez | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 127 | KY | Not named | Filed |
![]() | 05 Sep | Waltrip Williamsburg | Whiskey | 4 y | 98 | VA | Own still | Filed |
05 SepFiledDierbergsBlended whiskey, 80 proof
- Distilled in
- Not stated
- Distiller
- Bottler only
- Filed by
- BUFFALO TRACE DISTILLERY
05 SepFiledDierbergsStraight bourbon, 80 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- BUFFALO TRACE DISTILLERY
05 SepExpiredBull Run Distilling Co, The UnipiperWhiskey, 16 y, 96.44 proof
- Distilled in
- Not stated
- Distiller
- Bottler only
- Filed by
- BULL RUN DISTILLING COMPANY
05 SepFiledCastle & Key, Wheated Cask StrengthStraight bourbon, 7 y, 105.8 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Own still
- Filed by
- Castle & Key Distillery
05 SepFiledJ. Mattingly 1845, Martinez MartinezWhiskey specialty, 127 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- J. Mattingly 1845
05 SepFiledWaltrip WilliamsburgWhiskey, 4 y, 98 proof
- Distilled in
- VA
- Distiller
- Own still
- Filed by
- COPPER FOX DISTILLERY ENTERPRISES
Where this comes from
- TTB ID
- 25233001000602
- Label approved
- 04 Sep 2025
- Submitted
- 21 Aug 2025 (approved 14 days later)
- Name on the approval
- World Whiskey Society
- Address on the approval
- Pendergrass, GA
- Permits on the approval
- DSP-GA-20073
- Class on the approval
- 101, Straight bourbon
- How it was read
- By CaskGrail's reader, from the label images; each fact is the label's own statement
- Source
- US TTB label approval (COLA), not a shelf listing or a release announcement
A label approval is permission to bottle. It isn't an announcement or a release date. The name on the approval is whoever applied for it, which is not always who distilled the whiskey. How CaskGrail reads labels