Filed by The Bardstown Bourbon Company
Art of Alchemy, Herman Story
Bardstown, KentuckyFiled 16 Sep 2024
- 101 proof · 50.5% ABV
- 6 years
- Whiskey specialty
- 12% corn · 80% rye · 8% malted barley
- Distilled in Kentucky
Wood & finish
- Class, as printed
- Straight Kentucky Rye Whiskey Finished in Red Wine Barrels
- Finish, as printed
- finished in red wine barrels
- Mash bill, as printed
- 80% Rye | 12% Corn | 8% Barley
- Bottle
- 750 ml
Read from the front and strip labels by the extractor; each fact is the label's own statement.
Sourcing
- Distilled at
- Not named — the label says only "distilled in Kentucky"
- Bottled by
- Bardstown Bourbon Company, Bardstown, KY
- Distilled in
- Kentucky
Each line is the label's own statement with its role words removed. Applicant and bottler are not the same thing as distiller.
No distiller name is inferred from a state. When the label names only a state, the ledger says so.
Find this bottle
The Bardstown Bourbon Company’s bottle finder
Its answer comes from their own where-to-buy page. CaskGrail links it and reads nothing out of it; where a bottle sits on a shelf is the house’s claim, not the register’s.
- Retailer searches
- Instacart · Total Wine — a search for “Art of Alchemy, Herman Story” that you run; each answers from stock at the grocery and liquor chains it delivers for, by your address, and its own stores' stock. No affiliate links, no prices here.
More Art of Alchemy
Other labels filed under the same brand name: batches, single barrels, picks and re-issues, newest first.
Shared wood
Other brands whose labels name the same finish cask, most in common first, then nearest proof.
Red WineRoaming Man, Pot Distilled - Small BatchSugarlands Distilling Company101 proof4 y
Red WineRd One, Single BarrelRD#1 Spirits100 proof6+ y
Red WineCopperworks Distilling Co., Red Wine CaskCopperworks Distilling Company100 proofAge not stated
Red WineCasey Jones, Barrel Finished SeriesCasey Jones Distillery100 proofAge not stated
Red WineOnwOld Nick Williams Company92 proofAge not stated
Red WineBurnt Barrel Distillery, ConfluenceBurnt Barrel Distillery92 proofAge not stated
Red WineBitley CreekOff the Chain Brewstillery111 proof10 y
Red WineFlaviar, Bardstown Cask Co-OpMAZZA CHAUTAUQUA CELLARS90 proof6 y
Red WineDoire Distilling, Wicked BourbonDoire Distilling90 proofAge not stated
Red WineCold ZeroCEDAR RIDGE DISTILLERY115 proof7 y- Every Red Wine label →
Also filed by The Bardstown Bourbon Company
| Distiller | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() | 16 Oct | Freedom Foundation | Straight bourbon | 7 y | 96 | KY | Not named |
![]() | 13 Oct | The Difference, Vintage Estate | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 106.4 | KY | Not named |
![]() | 13 Oct | Boone's Bourbon | Bourbon | 5 y | 117.8 | Not stated | Bottler only |
![]() | 24 Sep | Fathertime | Straight bourbon | Not stated | 92.4 | KY | Not named |
![]() | 23 Sep | Fathertime | Straight bourbon | Not stated | 116.8 | KY | Not named |
![]() | 23 Sep | Buzzard"s Roost | Straight bourbon | 11 y | 100 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 23 Sep | Wildcress | Straight bourbon | 6 y | 90 | KY | Not named |
![]() | 21 Sep | High Rustler, Explore the Frontier | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 90 | KY | Not named |
16 OctFreedom FoundationStraight bourbon, 7 y, 96 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- The Bardstown Bourbon Company
13 OctThe Difference, Vintage EstateWhiskey specialty, 106.4 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- The Bardstown Bourbon Company
13 OctBoone's BourbonBourbon, 5 y, 117.8 proof
- Distilled in
- Not stated
- Distiller
- Bottler only
- Filed by
- The Bardstown Bourbon Company
24 SepFathertimeStraight bourbon, 92.4 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- The Bardstown Bourbon Company
23 SepFathertimeStraight bourbon, 116.8 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- The Bardstown Bourbon Company
23 SepBuzzard"s RoostStraight bourbon, 11 y, 100 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- The Bardstown Bourbon Company
23 SepWildcressStraight bourbon, 6 y, 90 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- The Bardstown Bourbon Company
21 SepHigh Rustler, Explore the FrontierWhiskey specialty, 90 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- The Bardstown Bourbon Company
More from the week of 16–22 September 2024
| Distiller | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() | 20 Sep | Helluva Straight Wheat Whiskey | Straight whiskey | 2 y | 95* | CO | Not named |
![]() | 20 Sep | Four Grain Straight Whiskey Bottled in Bond | Straight whiskey | 4 y | 100 | CO | Own still |
![]() | 20 Sep | Breckenridge Distillery | Blend of straight bourbons | Not stated | 87 | CO | Not named |
![]() | 20 Sep | Brush Creek, Purdue for Life Foundation | Straight bourbon | 7 y | 96 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 20 Sep | Blantons | Bourbon | Not stated | 80 | KY | Not named |
![]() | 20 Sep | Peach Street Distilers, Colorado Straight Bourbon Whiskey 14 Year | Straight bourbon | 14+ y | 92 | CO | Own still |
20 SepHelluva Straight Wheat WhiskeyStraight whiskey, 2 y, 95* proof
- Distilled in
- CO
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- The Block Distilling Company
20 SepFour Grain Straight Whiskey Bottled in BondStraight whiskey, 4 y, 100 proof
- Distilled in
- CO
- Distiller
- Own still
- Filed by
- The Block Distilling Company
20 SepBreckenridge DistilleryBlend of straight bourbons, 87 proof
- Distilled in
- CO
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Very Good Manufacturing
20 SepBrush Creek, Purdue for Life FoundationStraight bourbon, 7 y, 96 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Brush Creek Distillery
20 SepBlantonsBourbon, 80 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- CONNOISSEUR WINES USA
20 SepPeach Street Distilers, Colorado Straight Bourbon Whiskey 14 YearStraight bourbon, 14+ y, 92 proof
- Distilled in
- CO
- Distiller
- Own still
- Filed by
- PEACH STREET DISTILLERS
* Proof derived from the printed ABV (ABV × 2); the label prints no proof.
Where this comes from
- TTB ID
- 24249001000576
- Label approved
- 16 Sep 2024
- Submitted
- 05 Sep 2024 (approved 11 days later)
- Name on the approval
- The Bardstown Bourbon Company
- Address on the approval
- Bardstown, KY
- Permits on the approval
- DSP-KY-20037
- Class on the approval
- 641, Whiskey specialty
- How it was read
- By CaskGrail's reader, from the label images; each fact is the label's own statement
- Source
- US TTB label approval (COLA), not a shelf listing or a release announcement
A label approval is permission to bottle. It isn't an announcement or a release date. The name on the approval is whoever applied for it, which is not always who distilled the whiskey. How CaskGrail reads labels

