CaskGrail

Filed by THE WINE CARE GROUP

A. Smith Bowman

Huntington Beach, CaliforniaFiled 14 Aug 2025

Rate this filing

Class, as printed
Virginia Straight Bourbon Whiskey
Bottle
750 ml

Read from the front and back labels by the extractor; each fact is the label's own statement.

Sourcing

Distilled at
Not named — the label says only "distilled in Virginia"
Bottled by
Not stated Filed by THE WINE CARE GROUP.
Distilled in
Virginia

Each line is the label's own statement with its role words removed. Applicant and bottler are not the same thing as distiller.

No distiller name is inferred from a state. When the label names only a state, the ledger says so.

Find this bottle

Neither the house nor the brand prints a bottle finder on its site. What follows are searches, not sightings.

Retailer searches
Instacart · Total Wine — a search for “A. Smith Bowman” that you run; each answers from stock at the grocery and liquor chains it delivers for, by your address, and its own stores' stock. No affiliate links, no prices here.

Also filed by THE WINE CARE GROUP

Distiller
08 OctFour Roses, Small Batch Limited Edition 2023Straight bourbonNot stated118.2*KYNot named
06 OctFour Roses, Small Batch 2024Straight bourbonNot stated114.2KYNot named
06 OctFour Roses, Small Batch 2025Straight bourbonNot stated112KYNot named
25 JunBlanton'sStraight bourbonNot stated93KYNamed: BUFFALO TRACE DISTILLERY
20 JanDistinctive SpiritsBourbon9 y116.6*TNNot named
20 JanDistinctive SpiritsBourbon16 y132.4*KYNot named
29 JulO.F.C.Straight bourbonNot stated90KYNot named
29 JulEagle RareStraight bourbon25 y101KYNot named
08 OctFour Roses, Small Batch Limited Edition 2023Straight bourbon, 118.2* proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
THE WINE CARE GROUP
06 OctFour Roses, Small Batch 2024Straight bourbon, 114.2 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
THE WINE CARE GROUP
06 OctFour Roses, Small Batch 2025Straight bourbon, 112 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
THE WINE CARE GROUP
25 JunBlanton'sStraight bourbon, 93 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Named: BUFFALO TRACE DISTILLERY
Filed by
THE WINE CARE GROUP
20 JanDistinctive SpiritsBourbon, 9 y, 116.6* proof
Distilled in
TN
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
THE WINE CARE GROUP
20 JanDistinctive SpiritsBourbon, 16 y, 132.4* proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
THE WINE CARE GROUP
29 JulO.F.C.Straight bourbon, 90 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
THE WINE CARE GROUP
29 JulEagle RareStraight bourbon, 25 y, 101 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
THE WINE CARE GROUP

* Proof derived from the printed ABV (ABV × 2); the label prints no proof.

More from the week of 11–17 August 2025

DistillerStatus
16 AugJuan Pistolas Kentucky Straight Bourbon WhiskeyStraight bourbonNot stated80KYNot namedFiled
15 AugBasil Hayden, Cognac Cask Finish ReserveWhiskey specialtyNot stated80KYOwn stillFiled
15 AugMontana Whiskey Co., Blackfoot River BourbonStraight bourbon6 y91*INNot namedFiled
15 AugRedwood Empire, The Lost MonarchWhiskey3 y90Not statedNot statedExpired
15 AugStarlight Distillery, Bloody ButcherStraight bourbon4+ y110INOwn stillFiled
15 AugStarlight Distillery, Mizunara ReserveWhiskey specialty8 y112Not statedBottler onlyFiled
16 AugFiledJuan Pistolas Kentucky Straight Bourbon WhiskeyStraight bourbon, 80 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Juan Pistlas
15 AugFiledBasil Hayden, Cognac Cask Finish ReserveWhiskey specialty, 80 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
JIM BEAM BRANDS
15 AugFiledMontana Whiskey Co., Blackfoot River BourbonStraight bourbon, 6 y, 91* proof
Distilled in
IN
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Montana Whiskey
15 AugExpiredRedwood Empire, The Lost MonarchWhiskey, 3 y, 90 proof
Distilled in
Not stated
Distiller
Not stated
Filed by
Corning & Company Distillers
15 AugFiledStarlight Distillery, Bloody ButcherStraight bourbon, 4+ y, 110 proof
Distilled in
IN
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
Huber's Starlight Distillery
15 AugFiledStarlight Distillery, Mizunara ReserveWhiskey specialty, 8 y, 112 proof
Distilled in
Not stated
Distiller
Bottler only
Filed by
Huber's Starlight Distillery

* Proof derived from the printed ABV (ABV × 2); the label prints no proof.

The whole week's ledger

Where this comes from
Label approved
14 Aug 2025
Submitted
12 Aug 2025 (approved 2 days later)
Name on the approval
THE WINE CARE GROUP
Address on the approval
Huntington Beach, CA
Permits on the approval
CA-I-15894 (an importer’s permit: this name holds no distillery)
Class on the approval
101, Straight bourbon
How it was read
By CaskGrail's reader, from the label images; each fact is the label's own statement
Source
US TTB label approval (COLA), not a shelf listing or a release announcement

A label approval is permission to bottle. It isn't an announcement or a release date. The name on the approval is whoever applied for it, which is not always who distilled the whiskey. How CaskGrail reads labels

The Rickhouse Report

Every Monday: the week's new American whiskey labels, with what each label says about who distilled it.

One email a week, unsubscribe in one click. Your address goes nowhere else. Know the password? It's Monday.

The brand

A. Smith Bowman

Follow A. Smith Bowman. Their new labels show up on your home page, newest first. No account needed; sign in to keep your follows on every device.

The only email CaskGrail sends today is The Rickhouse Report: every new American whiskey label of the week, each Monday, which you can get without an account at the foot of this page.

Get The Rickhouse Report