Filed by Shankar Distillers
Varchas, Limited Edition
Troy, MichiganFiled 23 Oct 2024
- 90 proof · 45% ABV
- Age not stated
- Whiskey specialty
- Single barrel
- Distilled in Indiana
Wood & finish
- Class, as printed
- Straight Bourbon Whiskey Finished In Cognac Barrels
- Finish, as printed
- finished in Cognac Barrels
- Bottle
- 750 ml
Read from the front and back labels by the extractor; each fact is the label's own statement.
Sourcing
- Distilled at
- Not named — the label says only "distilled in Indiana"
- Bottled by
- Shankar Distillers, LLC Troy, MI
- Distilled in
- Indiana
Each line is the label's own statement with its role words removed. Applicant and bottler are not the same thing as distiller.
No distiller name is inferred from a state. When the label names only a state, the ledger says so.
Find this bottle
Neither the house nor the brand prints a bottle finder on its site. What follows are searches, not sightings.
- Retailer searches
- Instacart · Total Wine — a search for “Varchas, Limited Edition” that you run; each answers from stock at the grocery and liquor chains it delivers for, by your address, and its own stores' stock. No affiliate links, no prices here.
More Varchas
Other labels filed under the same brand name: batches, single barrels, picks and re-issues, newest first.
Single barrelVarchas, Limited EditionShankar Distillers115 proofAge not stated
Single barrelVarchas, Limited EditionShankar Distillers115 proofAge not stated
Single barrelVarchas, Limited EditionShankar Distillers115 proofAge not stated
Single barrelVarchas, Limited EditionShankar Distillers115 proofAge not stated
Varchas, War Dog Memorial Edition Barrel Proof Straight Bourbon WhiskeyShankar Distillers116 proofAge not stated
Varchas, Small Batch Straight Bourbon WhiskeyShankar Distillers90 proofAge not stated
Varchas, 250th AnniversaryShankar Distillers116 proofAge not stated
Single barrelVarchas, Reserve 102Shankar Distillers102 proofAge not stated
Single barrelVarchas, Limited EditionShankar Distillers90 proofAge not stated
Shared wood
Other brands whose labels name the same finish cask, most in common first, then nearest proof.
CognacGold Bar, Blend No. 117The Gold Bar Spirits Company90 proof16 y
CognacGold Bar, Blend No. 117The Gold Bar Spirits Company90 proof16 y
CognacSecreto Confido, Nova AetasBULL RUN DISTILLING COMPANY90 proof18 y
CognacBluebird Distilling, French CigarBluebird Distilling92 proof6 y
CognacMcconnell'sMHW92 proof5 y
CognacPenelope, MadagascarLUXCO95 proofAge not stated
Cognac1792, Cognac Cask FinishBarton 1792 Distillery95 proofAge not stated
CognacIce Storm WhiskeyIron Fish Distillery96 proofAge not stated
CognacFrancis James, LeeannFOUR HUNDRED AND ONE SPIRITS96 proof2.17 y
CognacFrancis James, LeeannFOUR HUNDRED AND ONE SPIRITS96 proofAge not stated- Every Cognac label →
Also filed by Shankar Distillers
| Distiller | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() | 06 Aug | Varchas, Limited Edition | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 115 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 06 Aug | Varchas, Limited Edition | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 115 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 05 Aug | Varchas, Limited Edition | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 115 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 04 Aug | Varchas, Limited Edition | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 115 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 20 May | Varchas, War Dog Memorial Edition Barrel Proof Straight Bourbon Whiskey | Straight bourbon | Not stated | 116 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 20 May | Varchas, Small Batch Straight Bourbon Whiskey | Straight bourbon | Not stated | 90 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 26 Mar | Varchas, 250th Anniversary | Straight bourbon | Not stated | 116 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 24 Mar | Varchas, Reserve 102 | Straight bourbon | Not stated | 102 | IN | Not named |
06 AugVarchas, Limited EditionWhiskey specialty, 115 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Shankar Distillers
06 AugVarchas, Limited EditionWhiskey specialty, 115 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Shankar Distillers
05 AugVarchas, Limited EditionWhiskey specialty, 115 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Shankar Distillers
04 AugVarchas, Limited EditionWhiskey specialty, 115 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Shankar Distillers
20 MayVarchas, War Dog Memorial Edition Barrel Proof Straight Bourbon WhiskeyStraight bourbon, 116 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Shankar Distillers
20 MayVarchas, Small Batch Straight Bourbon WhiskeyStraight bourbon, 90 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Shankar Distillers
26 MarVarchas, 250th AnniversaryStraight bourbon, 116 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Shankar Distillers
24 MarVarchas, Reserve 102Straight bourbon, 102 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Shankar Distillers
More from the week of 21–27 October 2024
| Distiller | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() | 25 Oct | Social Still | Straight rye | Not stated | 90 | PA | Own still |
![]() | 25 Oct | Tumblin Dice | Straight rye | 11+ y | 110 | IN | Not named |
![]() | 25 Oct | Casey Jones, 10 Year Anniversary Blend | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 100 | KY | Not named |
![]() | 25 Oct | Quality House, Kentucky Premium | Whiskey specialty | Not stated | 80 | Not stated | Bottler only |
![]() | 25 Oct | Fordham Lee Distillery, Barrel Select | Bourbon | 2 y | 80 | NC | Not named |
![]() | 25 Oct | Horseshoe Barrel Company | Bourbon | 7 y | 120 | KY | Not named |
25 OctSocial StillStraight rye, 90 proof
- Distilled in
- PA
- Distiller
- Own still
- Filed by
- Social Still
25 OctTumblin DiceStraight rye, 11+ y, 110 proof
- Distilled in
- IN
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- BLUEGRASS BOTTLING
25 OctCasey Jones, 10 Year Anniversary BlendWhiskey specialty, 100 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Casey Jones Distillery
25 OctQuality House, Kentucky PremiumWhiskey specialty, 80 proof
- Distilled in
- Not stated
- Distiller
- Bottler only
- Filed by
- Heaven Hill Distilleries
25 OctFordham Lee Distillery, Barrel SelectBourbon, 2 y, 80 proof
- Distilled in
- NC
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Fordham Lee Distillery
25 OctHorseshoe Barrel CompanyBourbon, 7 y, 120 proof
- Distilled in
- KY
- Distiller
- Not named
- Filed by
- Whiskey Thief Distilling Company
Where this comes from
- TTB ID
- 24290001000135
- Label approved
- 23 Oct 2024
- Submitted
- 16 Oct 2024 (approved 7 days later)
- Name on the approval
- Shankar Distillers
- Address on the approval
- Troy, MI
- Permits on the approval
- DSP-MI-20216
- Class on the approval
- 641, Whiskey specialty
- How it was read
- By CaskGrail's reader, from the label images; each fact is the label's own statement
- Source
- US TTB label approval (COLA), not a shelf listing or a release announcement
A label approval is permission to bottle. It isn't an announcement or a release date. The name on the approval is whoever applied for it, which is not always who distilled the whiskey. How CaskGrail reads labels