CaskGrail

Filed by New England Barrel Company

Last Class, Barrel # 1996

Reading, MassachusettsFiled 04 Aug 2026

Rate this filing

Bottle
750 ml
Selected by
The Citadel Class of 1996

From the label: 'Single barrel proudly selected for the Citadel Class of 1996 by McCall, Ryan, Murphy'; bottled in memory of Captain Benjamin W. Sammis, USMC '96; barrel #1996; proceeds support a memorial scholarship.

Read by hand from the front and back labels on 3 September 2026.

Sourcing

Distilled at
Not named — the label says only "distilled in Indiana"
Bottled by
New England Barrel Company, Reading, MA
Distilled in
Indiana

Each line is the label's own statement with its role words removed. Applicant and bottler are not the same thing as distiller.

No distiller name is inferred from a state. When the label names only a state, the ledger says so.

Find this bottle

Neither the house nor the brand prints a bottle finder on its site. What follows are searches, not sightings.

Retailer searches
Instacart · Total Wine — a search for “Last Class, Barrel # 1996” that you run; each answers from stock at the grocery and liquor chains it delivers for, by your address, and its own stores' stock. No affiliate links, no prices here.

Also filed by New England Barrel Company

Distiller
07 AugHelsing FilesStraight bourbon5 y132.2KYNot named
04 AugBluffton, The Founders' PourStraight bourbon9 y120INNot named
17 NovNew England Barrel Company, Small Batch Select BourbonStraight bourbon4 y120KYNot named
13 NovNew England Barrel Company, Small Batch Select RyeStraight rye4 y120KYNot named
10 SepNew England Barrel Company, Small Batch RyeStraight rye3+ y100KYNot named
10 SepNew England Barrel Company, Small Batch BourbonStraight bourbon3+ y100KYNot named
04 JunNew England Barrel Company, 2025 Founders SelectionStraight bourbon20 y109.6TNNot named
29 MayNew England Barrel Company, Barrel #09cn01Whiskey specialty7 y139.2TNNot named
07 AugHelsing FilesStraight bourbon, 5 y, 132.2 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
New England Barrel Company
04 AugBluffton, The Founders' PourStraight bourbon, 9 y, 120 proof
Distilled in
IN
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
New England Barrel Company
17 NovNew England Barrel Company, Small Batch Select BourbonStraight bourbon, 4 y, 120 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
New England Barrel Company
13 NovNew England Barrel Company, Small Batch Select RyeStraight rye, 4 y, 120 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
New England Barrel Company
10 SepNew England Barrel Company, Small Batch RyeStraight rye, 3+ y, 100 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
New England Barrel Company
10 SepNew England Barrel Company, Small Batch BourbonStraight bourbon, 3+ y, 100 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
New England Barrel Company
04 JunNew England Barrel Company, 2025 Founders SelectionStraight bourbon, 20 y, 109.6 proof
Distilled in
TN
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
New England Barrel Company
29 MayNew England Barrel Company, Barrel #09cn01Whiskey specialty, 7 y, 139.2 proof
Distilled in
TN
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
New England Barrel Company

More from the week of 3–9 August 2026

Distiller
07 AugJettywave, Small Batch Bourbon WhiskeyStraight bourbonNot stated90CAOwn still
07 AugBuffalo Trace, Single Oak Project Barrel# 136Straight bourbonNot stated90KYNot named
07 AugFighting Cock, Aged 15 Years OldStraight bourbon15 y103KYNot named
07 AugBlack Ledger Founders CollectionStraight bourbon11 y116INNot named
07 AugElijag Craig, Aged 20 YearsStraight bourbon20 y90*KYNot named
07 AugVery Olde St.Nick, AncientStraight bourbonNot stated82.7KYNot named
07 AugJettywave, Small Batch Bourbon WhiskeyStraight bourbon, 90 proof
Distilled in
CA
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
JettyWave Distillery
07 AugBuffalo Trace, Single Oak Project Barrel# 136Straight bourbon, 90 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Connoisseur Wines & Spirits California
07 AugFighting Cock, Aged 15 Years OldStraight bourbon, 15 y, 103 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Connoisseur Wines & Spirits California
07 AugBlack Ledger Founders CollectionStraight bourbon, 11 y, 116 proof
Distilled in
IN
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Cardinal Spirits
07 AugElijag Craig, Aged 20 YearsStraight bourbon, 20 y, 90* proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Connoisseur Wines & Spirits California
07 AugVery Olde St.Nick, AncientStraight bourbon, 82.7 proof
Distilled in
KY
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Connoisseur Wines & Spirits California

* Proof derived from the printed ABV (ABV × 2); the label prints no proof.

The whole week's ledger

Where this comes from
Label approved
04 Aug 2026
Submitted
28 Jul 2026 (approved 7 days later)
Name on the approval
New England Barrel Company
Address on the approval
Reading, MA
Permits on the approval
DSP-MA-21084
Class on the approval
101, Straight bourbon
How it was read
By hand, from the label images
Source
US TTB label approval (COLA), not a shelf listing or a release announcement

A label approval is permission to bottle. It isn't an announcement or a release date. The name on the approval is whoever applied for it, which is not always who distilled the whiskey. How CaskGrail reads labels

The Rickhouse Report

Every Monday: the week's new American whiskey labels, with what each label says about who distilled it.

One email a week, unsubscribe in one click. Your address goes nowhere else. Know the password? It's Monday.

The distillery this label was approved to

New England Barrel Company

Follow New England Barrel Company. Their new labels show up on your home page, newest first. No account needed; sign in to keep your follows on every device.

The only email CaskGrail sends today is The Rickhouse Report: every new American whiskey label of the week, each Monday, which you can get without an account at the foot of this page.

Get The Rickhouse Report