CaskGrail

Distilled by Backwards Distilling Company

Wiley King

Mills, WyomingFiled 21 Aug 2025

Rate this filing

Class, as printed
Straight Rye Whiskey
Bottle
750 ml

Read from the front and back labels by the extractor; each fact is the label's own statement.

Sourcing

Distilled at
Mashed, Fermented, Distilled, Aged, and Bottled by Backwards Distilling Company. Mills, WY. DSP-WY-21001 Plant registered as Backwards Distilling Company.
Bottled by
Mashed, Fermented, Distilled, Aged, and Bottled by Backwards Distilling Company. Mills, WY. DSP-WY-21001 Same house as the distiller.
Distilled in
Wyoming

Each line is the label's own statement with its role words removed. Applicant and bottler are not the same thing as distiller.

Find this bottle

Neither the house nor the brand prints a bottle finder on its site. What follows are searches, not sightings.

Retailer searches
Instacart · Total Wine — a search for “Wiley King” that you run; each answers from stock at the grocery and liquor chains it delivers for, by your address, and its own stores' stock. No affiliate links, no prices here.

Also filed by Backwards Distilling Company

Distiller
25 SepBackwards Distilling Company, Amaro Cask EditionWhiskey specialty7 y100WYOwn still
25 SepBackwards Distilling Company, Maple Barrel EditionWhiskey specialty7 y94WYOwn still
18 SepBackwards Distilling Company, Brown Sugar Old FashionedWhiskey specialtyNot stated78*WYOwn still
29 AprPretty Good Horse BourbonStraight bourbonNot stated86WYOwn still
07 MarBuckin' Horse BourbonStraight bourbonNot readNot readNot readNot read
11 FebBackwards Distilling Company, A Home for SteamboatStraight bourbonNot readNot readNot readNot read
25 SepBackwards Distilling Company, Amaro Cask EditionWhiskey specialty, 7 y, 100 proof
Distilled in
WY
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
Backwards Distilling Company
25 SepBackwards Distilling Company, Maple Barrel EditionWhiskey specialty, 7 y, 94 proof
Distilled in
WY
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
Backwards Distilling Company
18 SepBackwards Distilling Company, Brown Sugar Old FashionedWhiskey specialty, 78* proof
Distilled in
WY
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
Backwards Distilling Company
29 AprPretty Good Horse BourbonStraight bourbon, 86 proof
Distilled in
WY
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
Backwards Distilling Company
07 MarBuckin' Horse BourbonStraight bourbon
Distilled in
Not read
Distiller
Not read
Filed by
Backwards Distilling Company
11 FebBackwards Distilling Company, A Home for SteamboatStraight bourbon
Distilled in
Not read
Distiller
Not read
Filed by
Backwards Distilling Company

* Proof derived from the printed ABV (ABV × 2); the label prints no proof.

More from the week of 18–24 August 2025

Distiller
22 AugRenegade RyeStraight rye6 y84PAOwn still
22 AugLand Run DistilleryStraight rye3 y100Not statedBottler only
22 AugBlackoutStraight bourbon8 y115.8*INNot named
22 AugDamm WhiskeyWhiskeyNot stated92Not statedBottler only
22 AugDamm WhiskeyWhiskeyNot statedNot statedNot statedBottler only
22 AugLost LanternStraight corn whiskey4 y128TXNamed: Balcones Distilling
22 AugRenegade RyeStraight rye, 6 y, 84 proof
Distilled in
PA
Distiller
Own still
Filed by
Wigle Whiskey
22 AugLand Run DistilleryStraight rye, 3 y, 100 proof
Distilled in
Not stated
Distiller
Bottler only
Filed by
Land Run Distillery
22 AugBlackoutStraight bourbon, 8 y, 115.8* proof
Distilled in
IN
Distiller
Not named
Filed by
Old Louisville Whiskey Co.
22 AugDamm WhiskeyWhiskey, 92 proof
Distilled in
Not stated
Distiller
Bottler only
Filed by
Catalyst Distilling
22 AugDamm WhiskeyWhiskey
Distilled in
Not stated
Distiller
Bottler only
Filed by
Catalyst Distilling
22 AugLost LanternStraight corn whiskey, 4 y, 128 proof
Distilled in
TX
Distiller
Named: Balcones Distilling
Filed by
Lost Lantern Whiskey

* Proof derived from the printed ABV (ABV × 2); the label prints no proof.

The whole week's ledger

Where this comes from
Label approved
21 Aug 2025
Submitted
19 Aug 2025 (approved 2 days later)
Name on the approval
Backwards Distilling Company
Address on the approval
Mills, WY
Permits on the approval
DSP-WY-21001
Class on the approval
102, Straight rye
How it was read
By CaskGrail's reader, from the label images; each fact is the label's own statement
Source
US TTB label approval (COLA), not a shelf listing or a release announcement

A label approval is permission to bottle. It isn't an announcement or a release date. The name on the approval is whoever applied for it, which is not always who distilled the whiskey. How CaskGrail reads labels

The Rickhouse Report

Every Monday: the week's new American whiskey labels, with what each label says about who distilled it.

One email a week, unsubscribe in one click. Your address goes nowhere else. Know the password? It's Monday.

The distillery this label names as distiller

Backwards Distilling Company

Follow Backwards Distilling Company. Their new labels show up on your home page, newest first. No account needed; sign in to keep your follows on every device.

The only email CaskGrail sends today is The Rickhouse Report: every new American whiskey label of the week, each Monday, which you can get without an account at the foot of this page.

Get The Rickhouse Report